Carmarthen Harriers medallists in the Welsh schools' cross country championships

The first Welsh schools' cross country championships were held in 1961 and races for the Year 7 pupils were added in 2004.

Carmarthen and District Harriers Athletics Club athletes have won since 1961 won a total of 84 individual medals (33 gold, 29 silver and 22 bronze)

<u>Tregib School Llandeilo pupil Dewi Griffiths has an outstanding record in the Welsh schools' cross</u> <u>country championships. In his first year as a junior boy, he finished 14th but then went on to win five</u> <u>consecutive Welsh schools individual cross country titles. I had the pleasure of driving Dewi to all his</u> <u>Welsh schools' cross country championship events.</u>

Carmarthen Harriers athletes were members of many successful Dyfed schools' teams that won many Welsh schools cross country team medals.

Dyfed schools have an outstanding record in the Welsh schools inter districts (8 districts) cross country team championships.

Since 1993 Dyfed schools have won the Welsh schools overall inter district team trophy on 23 occasions and on 5 occasions finished second to the Cardiff and Vale Schools team.

On two occasions Dyfed scored 77 points out of a maximum point total of 80 and on another two occasions (when there were 8 age groups) 117 points out of a maximum point total of 120.

<u>Sincere thanks to all who helped the Dyfed schools team compete in the annual Welsh schools'</u> <u>cross country championship. Every year there was almost a 100% turnout in the Dyfed team.</u>

Age Group	Gold Medal	Silver Medal	Bronze Medal	Total
Y7 Girls	1	2	1	4
Junior Girls	5	4	1	10
Middle Girls	2	4	2	8
Senior Girls	2	2	4	10
Y7 Boys	5	1	2	8
Junior Boys	5	6	1	12
Middle Boys	6	3	5	14
Senior Boys	7	7	6	20
Total	33	29	22	84

Age Group	Year	Medal	Name	School
			Year 7 Girls	
Y7 Girls	2005	Silver	Catrin Lewis	Aberteifi
Y7 Girls	2016	Gold	Daisy Thompson	Bro Myrddin
Y7 Girls	2016	Bronze	Phoebe Davis	Bro Dinefwr
Y7 Girls	2018	Silver	Chloe Hale	Bro Gwaun
			Junior Girls	
Junior Girls	1977	Gold	Gillian Irvine	Tregib
Junior Girls	1979	Gold	Jackie Thomas	Lampeter

		I -		
Junior Girls	1980	Silver	Jackie Thomas	Lampeter
Junior Girls	1990	Gold	Anwen Evans	QE Cambria
Junior Girls	1991	Gold	Angharad Howells	Aberaeron
Junior Girls	1992	Silver	Heledd Gruffudd	Penweddig
Junior Girls	1993	Silver	Heledd Gruffudd	Penweddig
Junior Girls	2004	Gold	Kayleigh Brown	Tregib
Junior Girls	2004	Silver	Rachel Marfleet	Aberaeron
Junior Girls	2006	Bronze	Aneura Phillips	Preseli
			Middle Girls	
Middle Girl	1978	Gold	Gillian Irvine	Tregib
Middle Girls	1981	Silver	Jackie Thomas	Gwendraeth
Middle Girls	1986	Silver	Nicola Morgan	Gruffydd Jones
Middle Girls	1987	Gold	Nicola Morgan	Gruffydd Jones
Middle Girls	1988	Bronze	Rebecca Evans	Tregib
Middle Girls	1994	Bronze	Heledd Gruffudd	Penweddig
Middle Girls	2005	Silver	Kayleigh Brown	Tregib
Middle Girls	2007	Silver	Angharad Davies	Llandovery College
			Senior Girls	
Senior Girls	1977	Bronze	Sian Jones	Tregib
Senior Girls	1979	Bronze	Sian Jones	Tregib
Senior Girls	1986	Bronze	Jenny Paynter	Preseli
Senior Girls	1988	Bronze	Nicola Morgan	Whitland
Senior Girls	1989	Gold	Vicky Hamer	Greenhill
Senior Girls	2005	Silver	Caryl Jones	Bro Myrddin
Senior Girls	2008	Gold	Alaw b Thomas	Strade
Senior Girls	2019	Silver	Eva Edwards	Bro Myrddin
			Year 7 Boys	
Y7 Boys	2005	Gold	Andrew Drakeley	Penweddig
Y7 Boys	2009	Gold	Christian Lovatt	Amman Valley
Y7 Boys	2010	Gold	Nikita Neary	Whitland
Y7 Boys	2015	Bronze	Iwan Glynn	Bro Myrddin
Y7 Boys	2017	Gold	Frank Morgan	Bro Myrddin
Y7 Boys	2019	Gold	Iwan Thomas	Strade
Y7 Boys	2019	Silver	Finley Tarling	Aberaeron
Y7 Boys	2020	Bronze	Macsen Toogood	Bro Dinefwr
			Junior Boys	
Junior Boys	1966	Silver	P Jones	Carmarthen GS
Junior Boys	1900			
/	1967	Gold	Jonathan Evans	Carmarthen GS
Junior Boys			Jonathan Evans S Harries	Carmarthen GS Carmarthen GS
	1967	Gold		
Junior Boys	1967 1969	Gold Silver	S Harries	Carmarthen GS
Junior Boys Junior Boys	1967 1969 1991	Gold Silver Gold	S Harries Alan Jones	Carmarthen GS Aberaeron
Junior Boys Junior Boys Junior Boys	1967 1969 1991 1992	Gold Silver Gold Silver	S Harries Alan Jones Sion Meredith	Carmarthen GS Aberaeron Penweddig
Junior Boys Junior Boys Junior Boys Junior Boys	1967 1969 1991 1992 1998	Gold Silver Gold Silver Silver	S Harries Alan Jones Sion Meredith Charles Harvey	Carmarthen GS Aberaeron Penweddig Aberaeron
Junior Boys Junior Boys Junior Boys Junior Boys Junior Boys	1967 1969 1991 1992 1998 2002	Gold Silver Gold Silver Silver Silver	S Harries Alan Jones Sion Meredith Charles Harvey Lee Ladd	Carmarthen GS Aberaeron Penweddig Aberaeron Aberteifi

Junior Boys	2012	Gold	Nikita Neary	Dyffryn Taf
Junior Boys	2019	Gold	Frank Morgan	Bro Myrddin
			-	
			Middle Boys	
Middle Boys	1992	Bronze	Alan Jones	Aberaeron
Middle Boys	1993	Silver	Alan Jones	Aberaeron
Middle Boys	1993	Bronze	Andres Jones	Aberaeron
Middle Boys	1999	Gold	David Jones	QE Maridunum
Middle Boys	2002	Bronze	Daniel Evans	Penglais
Middle Boys	2003	Bronze	Wynne Evans	QE Cambria
Middle Boys	2004	Gold	Lee Ladd	Aberteifi
Middle Boys	2006	Gold	Dewi Griffiths	Tregib
Middle Boys	2007	Gold	Dewi Griffiths	Tregib
Middle Boys	2007	Silver	Adam Bitchell	Penweddig
Middle Boys	2020	Bronze	Dafydd Jones	Bro Myrddin
Middle Boys	2022	Gold	Iwan Thomas	Glan y Mor
Middle Boys	2023	Gold	Iwan Thomas	Glan y Mor
Middle Boys	2023	Silver	Finley Bruce	Bro Preseli
			Senior Boys	
Senior Boys	1976	Bronze	Robert Davies	QE Maridunum
Senior Boys	1977	Silver	Robert Davies	QE Maridunum
Senior Boys	1978	Gold	Robert Davies	QE Maridunum
Senior Boys	1994	Bronze	Andres Jones	Aberaeron
Senior Boys	1995	Gold	Andres Jones	Aberaeron
Senior Boys	1995	Silver	Sion Meredith	Penweddig
Senior Boys	1996	Silver	Tom Cairnes	Penweddig
Senior Boys	1997	Gold	Sion Meredith	Coleg Ceredigion
Senior Boys	2004	Silver	Wynne Evans	QE Cambria
Senior Boys	2005	Gold	Lee Ladd	Aberteifi
Senior Boys	2005	Silver	Wynne Evans	QE Cambria
Senior Boys	2006	Bronze	Lee Ladd	Aberteifi
Senior Boys	2008	Gold	Dewi Griffiths	Tregib
Senior Boys	2008	Silver	Adam Bitchell	Penweddig
Senior Boys	2009	Gold	Dewi Griffiths	Tregib
Senior Boys	2009	Silver	Adam Bitchell	Penweddig
Senior Boys	2011	Bronze	Josh Griffiths	Amman Valley
Senior Boys	2014	Bronze	Christian Lovatt	Dyffryn Aman
Senior Boys	2015	Gold	Christian Lovatt	Dyffryn Aman
Senior Boys	2015	Bronze	Ashraf Liles	Dyffryn Aman
Senior Boys	2019	Silver	Ben Thomas	Strade

Hedydd Davies 20 October 2023