Carmarthen Harriers Welsh Athletics Roll of Honour

The sport of athletics is overwhelmingly an amateur sport run by volunteers, without whom the sport would not exist. Welsh Athletics firmly believes in recognising those who have given outstanding service to the sport in Wales

<u>Historical Note</u>

An award scheme for athletics in Wales was inaugurated by the Welsh AAA which was formed in 1948 and was the first body to control athletics throughout Wales

The **Award of Honour** was first to be established in 1952 **to** mark outstanding service over a "long period of time". The **Meritorious Award** followed two years later to award individuals for a shorter period of service. For individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to athletics in Wales, further recognition was introduced in 1989 with the introduction of a **Life Member** category, with the number restricted to a maximum of ten individuals

In the major re-organisation of 1990, the Athletics Association of Wales (AAW) – the body which replaced the Welsh AAA, the Welsh Women's AAA and the Welsh Cross Country Association- opted to continue with the Life Member and the Meritorious Awards but delayed the continuation of the Award of Honour until 1995

When Welsh Athletics Limited replaced the AAW in 2007: it was decided to retain all three categories of awards

In 2007 the award of **The Lifetime achievement Award** was instituted in 2007 to coincide with the launch of the Hall of Fame awards

Meritorious Award

For the award to be made for service, a minimum of fifteen years active contribution must have been completed at club, county, regional, district schools or national level

The Meritorious Award is determined by the Service Awards Panel and confirmed by the membership at the AGM

Year	Carmarthen Harriers Recipient
1958	RB (Ron) Evans*
1961	Ernie Jones*
1987	J Eirwyn Walters*
1988	D Hedydd Davies
2000	Terry Davies

2001	Eric Pennington*
2004	Steve Perks
2006	Ossie Morgan*
2006	Dorrien Thomas
2007	D Mike Walters
2008	Kevin Evans
2008	Ralph Siggery
2010	Eiddwen Davies
2010	Richard Wyer*
2010	Peter Goodson*
2012	Joan Goldsmith
2013	Carol Jones
2017	Simon Mansfield
2018	Dai Gatehouse
2019	Delyth Brown

Award of Honour

For the award to be made for service EITHER, a minimum of twenty five years active contribution must have been completed at county, regional, district schools or national levels, OR, having already received the Meritorious Award, that award holder has completed a minimum of a further ten years active contribution at club, regional, district schools or national levels

The Award of Honour is determined by the Service Awards Panel and confirmed by the membership at the AGM

Year	Carmarthen Harriers Recipient
1984	RB (Ron) Evans
1998	D Hedydd Davies
2016	Steve Perks
2020	Dorrien Thomas
2020	Kevin Evans
2021	Ralph Siggery

Lifetime Achievement Award

The lifetime achievement Award is for someone who has made a significant and major contribution to athletics in Wales during his or her lifetime with a minimum of 40 years' service to the sport. The individual should have had a wide ranging impact on Welsh Athletics at a high level and not simply at local or club level

Year	Carmarthen Harriers Recipient
2012	Hedydd Davies

Life Member

Year	Carmarthen Harriers Recipient
2002	Hedydd D <u>avies</u>

^{*}deceased