West Wales Regional Council Gerry Batty Memorial Award Joint Recipients: Jessica Lee + Lucy Wintle

Two up-and-coming stars from the Dyfed District have been announced as joint winners of the West Wales Region Gerry Batty Memorial Award (former treasurer of West Wales RAC) this year.

All clubs in the West Wales Region had been invited to send nominations back in November with the annual award open to any Junior, meaning any age group below senior (U20 and below). All disciplines were acceptable and the criteria was for the greatest level of improvement from the previous year (1st October 2018 to 30th September 2019), not necessarily the level of performance.

The West Wales Regional Athletics Council received several nominations for the Region's Gerry Batty Award in 2019 and discussed at the November Regional Council Committee meeting.

It was decided to give a joint-award to Jessica Lee (Carmarthen Harriers) and Lucy Wintle (Pembrokeshire Harriers), both who are now in year 9 but were first year in the under 15 in 2019 when their improvements were recorded.

Competing almost every weekend in the summer at track events and indoors in the winter, Both have had a brilliant 12 months and continue to impress, improving on their 100m, 200m, 300m, 800m and Long Jump performances compared to 2018 and place high in their respective events on the Power of 10 rankings.

In addition to club and school success, Jess and Lucy have also had selection and enjoyed International honours in July and November last year – Lee at the SIAB U17 International in Swansea (20/07/19) and Wintle at the SIAB Indoor Combined Events International at Glasgow. (30/11/19).

This joint award was planned to be presented at the West Wales Regional Athletics Championships at Neath in May, but following the event postponement because of the COVID-19 situation, the Gerry Batty Award presentation will be made at a later date in a future West Wales event (TBC).

Congratulations both, deserved winners! Llongyfarchiadau i'r ddau, enillwyr haeddiannol!


The previous award winners over the last decade are listed below: Thanks to former West Wales Regional Athletics Council Secretary Alan Currie for providing this information.

2007 - Dewi Griffiths (Carmarthen Harriers)

2008 - Emily Downey (Llanelli AC)

2009 - Kyran Roberts (Carmarthen Harriers)

2010 - Nikita Neary (Carmarthen Harriers)

2011 - Aled Price (Carmarthen Harriers)

2012 - no nominations

2013 - Jac Hopkins (Swansea Harriers)

2014 - Shaun Pearce (Carmarthen Harriers)

2015 - Ieuan Hosgood (Swansea Harriers)

2016 - Joe Brier (Swansea Harriers)

2017 - Bethany Moule (Neath Harriers)

2018 - Ben Thomas (Carmarthen Harriers)

2019 - Adam Beer (Llanelli AC)

Alan also maintains and administers an in depth records, rankings and Welsh Representative honours website that makes a very interesting read http://www.athleticsstatswales.webeden.co.uk/