February / Chwefror 2019

Action from the Welsh Schools Championships PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Monday, 03 July 2017 07:37

The West Wales region had a successful day at the 70th Welsh Schools National Track & Field Championships (Saturday 1st July) with a one-two finish for the two Districts.


(All report images from Nathan Jones, who was tweeting live @CarmsHarriers as it happened)

Dyfed schools again had a good team and individual result at the championship at Cardiff.

Dyfed won the overall team title once again, the twenty fourth time since 1989 (Cardiff and Vale schools are the only other district to have won the Charlie Hughes Trophy in that period) They beat Dyfed into second place in 1996, 2007, 2009 and 2014.

80 athletes competed for Dyfed at Cardiff and this year the Dyfed team was up against a very strong Cardiff and Vale team, a home match for them, Afan Nedd Tawe and five other Welsh school districts.

This year the Dyfed schools championships on Saturday 10 June 2017 had to be cancelled due to the heavy rain that started at 8am and it rained all day. Selection of the Dyfed schools was a problem this year.

Dyfed schools were not expected to win as Afan Nedd Tawe (Swansea and Neath/Port Talbot) were the favourites closely followed by a strong Cardiff and Vale schools team. Both these school districts have a concentrated population and excellent training and competition facilities.

Dyfed were behind the Afan Nedd Tawe schools team for most of the day but came through strongly to win by 11.5 points.

1 Dyfed 534pts; 2 Afan Nedd Tawe 522.5; 3 Cardiff and Vale 474; 4 South East Wales 316.5; 5 Glamorgan Valleys 314; 6 Eryri 246; 7 North East Wales 233; 8 Powys 226

Dyfed won the senior girls and boys team trophies. In the junior boys and middle boys team sections Dyfed came second and were third in the junior and middle girls sections.

At Cardiff the overall team trophy was presented to the two Dyfed schools captains Matthew Williams Milford and Carys Jones Bro Dinefwr by Gareth Oldham, Chairman of Welsh schools athletic association. At Cardiff, Dyfed school athletes won a total of 67 medals (16 gold, 29 silver, 22 bronze)

Senior Girls (Captain Carys Jones Bro Dinefwr)


Carys Jones Bro Dinefwr Pole Vault

Ffion Jenkins St Michaels 400 Hurdles


Lucy Omnet Pembroke 1500

Tegan Foley Greenhill 100

Tegan Foley Greenhill 200

4 x 100 Relay Tegan Foley, Gwen Griffiths Llandovery College, Olivia Haines Llandovery College and Sophie Hutchison Dyffryn Aman


Ellie Kiff Bro Dinefwr 3000

Ellie Kiff Bro Dinefwr 800

Olivia Haines Llandovery College Triple Jump

Amy Evans Coleg Sir Gar Javelin

Gwen Griffiths Llandovery College Shot Putt

Middle Girls (Captain Alicia Samuel Dyffryn Aman and Amy Rothero STP)


Thea Jenkins Dyffryn Taf High Jump

Danielle Jones Queen Elizabeth Discus

Mollie Dainton Coedcae Walk


Niamh Roberts Coedcae 300 Hurdles

Alicia Samuel Dyffryn Aman 100

4 x 100 Relay Alicia Samuel Dyffryn Aman, Amy Rothero STP, Celyn Williams Bro Dinefwr, Lisa Cowdy Penweddig


Junior Girls (Captain Lili Church Aberaeron)


Lili Church Aberaeron High Jump


Daisy Thompson Bro Myrddin 800

Kasia Cook Llandovery College Walk


Flavia Jenkins Dyffryn Taf 75 Hurdles

Lili Church Aberaeron Javelin

Senior Boys (Captain Matthew Williams Milford)


Matthew Williams Milford 800

James Tomlinson Pembroke Discus

David Evans STP 2000 steeplechase

Nathan James Coleg Sir Gar Javelin


Sean Collins Llandovery College 100

Simi Adepoje St Michaels High Jump

Simi Adepoje St Michaels Triple Jump

Thomas Jones Bro Myrddin 3000

Aaron John STP 400

4 x 100 Relay Aaron John STP, Sean Collins Llandovery College, Matthew Williams Milford, Patryk Ganclerz Coleg Sir Gar


Patryk Ganclerz Coleg Sir Gar 200

Morgan Llywelyn Dyffryn Aman 1500

David Evans STP 400 hurdles

Sean Collins Llandovery College 100


Middle Boys (Captain Joe Worrall Emlyn)


Ben Thomas Strade 1500 steeplechase

Owain Nicholas Bro Gwaun Walk

Joshua Thomas Queen Elizabeth Javelin


Joe Worrall Emlyn Discus

Iestyn Williams Bro Dinefwr 1500

Haydn Davies Bro Dinefwr 100 hurdles

Caleb Nicholas Preseli High Jump

William Lloyd Preseli 400 hurdles

4 x 100 Relay Haydn Davies Bro Dinefwr, Eli Oneyewu Dyffryn Aman, William Lloyd Preseli, Toby Baldwin Llandovery College


Andrew Salmon Preseli Hammer

Ollie Wheeler Greenhill Long Jump

Carwyn Morris Dyffryn Aman Javelin

Junior Boys (Captain Harry Davies St Michaels)


Harry Davies St Michaels Hammer

Harry Davies St Michaels Discus

Iwan Glynn Bro Myrddin 800


Joseph Reynolds Milford 300

Jack Gordon Maes Y Gwendraeth Shot Putt


Henry White STP Walk

Andreas Hedd-Ellis Emlyn Long Jump


Hedydd Davies the Dyfed schools secretary and senior team manager for the last 21 years thanked all the Dyfed school athletes who made the effort to compete for the District in Cardiff.

Their efforts upheld the fine tradition of Dyfed in these championships and success of Dyfed schools once again was due to the commitments and effort of all the members of the team. Several members on the day volunteered at short notice to fill in gaps in the team. A real solid effort once again.

A special thanks to Pembrokeshire Harriers members, Jo Salmon, Jane Wheeler, Liz Rowland, Gareth Elliott, Jonathan Phillips and Carmarthen Harriers members Nathan Jones and Delyth Rees for assisting with the administrative duties and field event officiating on the day.

Many Dyfed school athletes have been chosen to compete for the Welsh schools team in the schools international match in Dublin on Saturday 15 July 2017.

On behalf of all the team managers, all the team members contributed towards the result on a sunny and warm day, so a big congratulations to you all who competed especially those who had made the journey up the M4 from West Wales. (Neath, Port Talbot, Swansea, Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and Ceredigion.) All athletes are featured in the results below