69th Welsh Schools Athlteics Championships @ Cardiff 02.07.16 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Hedydd   
Sunday, 03 July 2016 10:40

Action from the Welsh Schools Athletics in the capital: Dyfed Schools again had a good team and individual result at the championship at Cardiff.


Report by Hedydd Davies

Gemau Cymru

Dyfed won the overall team title once again, the twenty fifth time since 1989 (Cardiff and Vale schools are the only other district to have won the Charlie Hughes Trophy in that period) they beat Dyfed into second place in 1996, 2007, 2009 and 2014.

Every single one of the 80 athletes selected competed for Dyfed at Cardiff and this year the Dyfed team was up against a very strong Cardiff and Vale team, a home match for them, Afan Nedd Tawe and five other Welsh school districts.

This year Dyfed schools were not expected to win as Afan Nedd Tawe (Swansea and Neath/Port Talbot) were the favourites closely followed by a very strong Cardiff and Vale schools team. Both these school districts have a concentrated population and excellent training and competition facilities. Dyfed were throughout the day slightly ahead of both teams.

Before the relays at the end of a seven hour competition Dyfed were only 5 points ahead of Afan Nedd Tawe but excellent relay results (one second and 5 third place) enabled Dyfed to win by 18 points.

1 Dyfed 555.5; 2 Afan Ned Tawe 538; 3 Cardiff and Vale 526.5; 4 Glamorgan Valleys 359

5 South East Wales 340; 6 Eryri 244.5; 7 Powys 227; 8 North East Wales 213.5

Dyfed also won the senior girls trophy and were joint first with Afan Nedd Tawe in the junior boys events. In the senior boys age groups Dyfed were second and also in the middle girls section. They were third in the middle boys section. The junior girls finished fourth out of the eight districts competing at Cardiff.

At Cardiff the overall team trophy was presented to the two Dyfed schools captains Sam Bleach Emlyn and Carys Jones Bro Dinefwr. Dyfed schools athletes won a total of 73 medals (19 gold, 5 silver and 39 bronze)

Lucy Davies Dyffryn Taf broke the Welsh record in the under 17 1500m steeplechase event and as a result she was awarded Kirsty Wade cup for the best track performance of the day and the Colin Jackson Cup for the hurdles best performance in the 2016 Welsh schools championships.

Carmarthen Harriers part of the successful team in 2016:

Iwan Glynn (800m) Tomos Rees (1500m) Iestyn Williams (1500m) Ben Thomas (1500mS/C) Thomas Jones (1500mS/C) Joe Worrall (SP&DT) Nicholas Jones (HT) Josh Thomas (JT) Dwayne Griffiths (200m&400m) Ryan Jenkins (3000m&110mH) Aled Phillips (2000mW&400mH) Sam Bleach (DT,HT&JT) Siwan Jones-Evans (300m) Lili Church (HJ) Alicia Samuel (100m) Celyn Williams (300m) Non Morgan (1500m) Danielle Jones (SP&DT) Amy Evans (JT) Carys Jones (PV)


Senior Girls (Captains Carys Jones Bro Dinefwr)


Amy Carter Coleg Sir Gar 2000m Walk

Carys Jones Bro Dinefwr Pole Vault

Tasia Stephens Coleg Sir Gar Javelin


Jessica Bradley STP 1500m


Sophie Witt Llandovery College, Ffion Jenkins St Michaels, Tay Osuntokun Llandovery College, Jessica Bradley STP 4 x 100m relay


Middle Girls (Captain Lydia Thomas STP)


Lydia Thomas STP 300m hurdles

Lucy Davies Dyffryn Taf 1500m steeplchase

Danielle Jones Queen Elizabeth Discus


Alicia Samuel Dyffryn Aman 100m

Tegan Foley Greenhill 200m

Celyn Williams Bro Dinefwr 300m

Non Morgan Bro Dinefwr 1500m

Esme Greer Greenhill 80m hurdles

Olivia Haines Llandovery College triple jump

Danielle Jones Queen Elizabeth Shot Putt

Tegan Foley Greenhill, Alicia Samuel Dyffryn Aman, Lydia Thomas STP, Bethany Randall Llandovery College 4 x 100m relay


Junior Girls (Captain Mollie Dainton Coedcae)


Mollie Dainton Coedcae 1000m walk

Iola Williams-Jones STP Discus


Nieve Jenkins Dyffryn Taf Long Jump

Nieve Jenkins Dyffryn Taf Javelin


Lisa Cowdy Penweddig 200m

Nieve Roberts Bryngwyn 75m hurdles

Sydnee Turner Pembroke Shot Putt

Sara Davies Dyffryn Teifi, Nieve Roberts Bryngwyn, Lisa Cowdy Penweddig, Siwan Jones-Evans 4 x 100m relay


Senior Boys (Captain Sam Bleach Emlyn)


Matthew Williams Milford 800m

Matthew Williams Milford 1500m

Ryan Jenkins Aberaeron 3000m

Aled Phillips Dyffryn Aman 400m hurdles

Aled Phillips Dyffryn Aman 2000m walk


Sam Bleach Emlyn Discus

Sam Bleach Emlyn Javelin


Tomi Lewis Llandovery College 100m

Dwayne Griffiths Dyffryn Aman 400m

Ryan Jenkins Aberaeron 110m hurdles

Thomas Wyburn High Jump

Matthew Williams Milford, Dwayne Griffiths Dyffryn Aman, Tomi Lewis Llandovery College, Corey Baldwin Llandovery College 4 x 100m relay


Middle Boys (Captain Shaun Zygadlo STP)


Shaun Zygadlo STP 100m hurdles

James Tomlinson Pembroke Discus

Ben Thomas Strade 1500m steeplchase


Shaun Zygadlo STP Long Jump

Simmi Adepoje St Michaels Triple Jump

Joshua Thomas Queen Elizabeth Javelin


Owain Nicholas Bro Gwaune 2000m walk

Thomas Jones Bro Myrddin 1500m steeplchase

Joe Worrall Emlyn Discus

Nicholas Jones Bro Dinefwr Hammer

Shaun Zygadlo STP, Aaron John STP, Radix Mulawarman St Michaels, Eli Onyewu Dyffryn Aman 4 x 100m relay


Junior Boys (Captain Harry Davies St Michaels)


Andrew Salmon Preseli 1000m walk

James Hill STP Long Jump

Joe Pritchard STP Triple Jump

Harry Davies St Michaels Discus


Harry Davies St Michaels Hammer

Tomos Rees Dyffryn Aman 1500m

William Lloyd Preseli High Jump

Luke Jones Strade, Louis Fox Queen Elizabeth, Toby Baldwin Llandovery College, Joe Pritchard STP 4 x 100 relay


William Lloyd Preseli 80m hurdles


Hedydd Davies the Dyfed schools secretary and senior team manager for the last 20 years thanked all the Dyfed school athletes who made the effort to compete for the district in Cardiff. Their efforts upheld the fine tradition of Dyfed in these championships and the success of Dyfed schools once again was due to the commitment and effort of all the members of the team. Several members on the day volunteered at short notice to fill in gaps in the team.

A real solid effort once again

A special thanks to Delyth Rees Bro Dinefwr, Jo Salmon Pembrokeshire Harriers, Louisa Zygadlo Pembrokeshire Harriers and Liz Rowland Pembrokeshire Harriers for assisting with the administrative duties on the day. Meredith Richards STP the Dyfed Schools AA chairman and Gareth Elliott Pembrokeshire Harriers represented Dyfed as part of the field event judging team.

Many Dyfed school athletes have been chosen to compete for the Welsh schools team in the schools international match in Ashford Kent on Saturday 16 July 2016.

Welsh Schools Results / Canlyniadau Ysgolion Cymru